Khyber PakhtoonKhuwa

PK-68 by-polls: PTI’s Ahtisham Javed emerges as winner

DERA ISMAIL KHAN: Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) candidate, Ahtisham Javed Akber has won the by-elections in the provincial assembly constituency PK-68 Dera Ismail Khan, ARY News reported.

Print Friendly

According to unofficial results, PTI nominee Ahtisham Javed Akber bagged 37,178 votes and his opponent Makhdoom Mureed Kazim Shah could secure 32,640 votes from Pk-68, Dera Ismail Khan – considered to be the traditional stronghold of Jamiat Ulema Islam-Fazl (JUIF).

The voting started at 8 am and came to an end on 5 pm, for which strict security arrangements were made. The constituency has 127,617 registered voters.

The seat fell vacant after the independent candidate Javed Akber Khan was disqualified for possessing a fake degree in December 2013.

Here it should also be noted that the JUIF chief, Maulana Fazlur Rahman himself is a registered voter in the constituency, while PMLN, PPP, ANP, QWP and the JUIF also formed a mega alliance against PTI in the by-elections.

Earlier, during the last general elections PTI candidate Hamayun Khan had secured a mere total of 1613 votes from the same constituency.

Print Friendly
Please follow and like us:



ARY Sports

Copyright © 2017

To Top