PML-N beats PTI in NA-162 by-election

CHICHAWATNI: According to unconfirmed and unofficial results, Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N) candidate Chaudhry Tufail Jutt has won NA-162 by-election, while Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate stood second, ARY News reported.

According to unofficial results, Tufail Jutt received 74, 580 votes to win the election, while PTI got 63, 211 votes to stand runner-up. The PML-N activists in the constituency resorted to celebrations and danced bhangra.

The NA-162 seat, won by PML-N, was left vacant after PTI’s Rai Hassan Nawaz was declared unqualified.

National Assembly (NA) member of PTI Rai Hasan Nawaz was disqualified by an election tribunal for hiding that he was a bank loan defaulter.

Rai Hasan Nawaz, who was elected into the National Assembly from NA-162 Sahiwal, had taken loan of Rs220 million from a bank in 1992 but did not repay the money.

Please follow and like us:



ARY Sports

Copyright © 2017

To Top