Sunday, September 26, 2021

ATC awards 29-year jail term to four attackers of Rangers check post in Karachi


KARACHI: An anti-terrorism court on Thursday handed 29 years jail sentence each to four MQM workers in an attack on Rangers check post in Karachi, ARY News reported.

The ATC judge announced 29 years imprisonment each for four perpetrators of the attack on a rangers check post in Korangi area of Karachi in March 2016.

Four MQM workers Ahmad Hassan, Ubaidullah alias Pagal, Kamran alias Kaamoon and Salman were arrested and convicted in the case.

The court also imposed Rs One Lac fine on each convict.

The prosecution argued in the court that the accused had attacked Rangers posts on the instructions of the MQM leadership.

Three Rangers personnel and a passerby were injured in attack at a post of the 83 wing Bhittai Rangers at the main Korangi Crossing near Korangi Industrial Area within the limits of Zaman Town police station.

“An improvised explosive device (IED) was hurled at the Rangers check post,” a police officer said.

The injured paramilitary force personnel were identified as Abdul Ghafoor, Kalimullah and Shafiq, and the passerby as Ashraf Shafi.

Earlier, on March 13 in the same year, two posts of the paramilitary force were attacked in the same manner with a difference of four minutes, although the attacks caused no casualty.

Latest Posts