Tuesday, June 28, 2022

Charlie Hebdo awarded 'Islamophobe of the year' award!


The French satirical magazine continues to be denounced and hated by the Muslim community worldwide. Charlie Hebdo was awarded for being Islamophobes of the year award for their hatefully mocking and derogatory depictions of Prophet Muhammad (P.B.U.H). The awards were held on Saturday by the Islamic Human Rights Commission (IHRC) and the magazine earned the not-so-acclaimed  ‘world’s most Islamophobic person or publication’ in 2015 award.

The illustrations had drawn immense criticism and condemnation worldwide, followed by an attack on the French satirical magazine which killed 12 members of staff including the editor. The attack was widely condemned by western media and European leaders in general. Muslims took a strong objection to the cartoons that were published as they respect and have an unmatched attachment to their beloved Prophet Muhammad (P.B.U.H). The incident caused an outrage in the Muslim community and Muslim world leaders were called upon by their respective populations to draft laws against Islamophobic publications and materials.

Charlie Hebdo won the award by beating three other candidates in the same category; United States President Barrack Obama, TV host Bill Maher and Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu. Although the awards were peaceful and no unpleasant incident occurred, it was condemned by certain quarters as insensitive to which the IHRC aptly replied:-

“The annual Islamophobia awards have come to be known as a tongue in cheek swipe at those in public life who have perpetrated or perpetuated acts of hatred against Muslims and their faith.”

“If people think Muslims should be on the receiving end of satire, then why cannot Muslims give it, too?” he said, adding: “We have a sense of humour and we can give it back.”

Interestingly, the Clint Eastwood directed film ‘American Sniper’ also won the Islamophobe movie of the year’ award and Fox news can claim to their credit the ‘Media Islamophobes of the year’ award!


Latest Posts