The news is by your side.

Peshawar Zalmi inflict fifth defeat on hapless Lahore

SHARJAH: Lahore Qalandars’s luck did not change as they succumbed to fifth straight defeat and have come close to the exit door after title holders Peshawar Zalmi inflicted a big ten-wicket defeat on them at Sharjah on Saturday.

Lahore failed yet again with the bat as England spinner Liam Dawson (3-20), Hasan Ali (3-22) and Wahab Riaz (2-14) rocked them for this year’s lowest total of 100 in 17.2 overs on a slow Sharjah stadium pitch.

Yet again Lahore spurned a good start of 42 without a loss and from 57-1 in 6.1 overs they lost nine wickets for 43 runs in the space of 67 balls — a third time collapse in this year’s PSL. The batting looked in complete shambles as no batsmen could score a half century in fifth straight match.

Fakhar Zaman clobbered four boundaraies and two sixes in his 17-ball 30 but none of the other batsmen could make any significant contribution, with Brendon McCullum and Umar Akmal making 15 each. Peshawar achieved the paltry target in 13.4 overs without losing a wicket.

Dawson had derailed the innings with wickets of Zaman and Denesh Ramdin (nought) on successive deliveries and was deprived of a hat-trick by Sohail Akhtar who he had in the 11th over.

Hasan had McCullum, Sunil Narine (three) and Salman Irshad (one) before Riaz claimed Sohail Khan and Yasir Shah (nought) and in between Umar was run out as Lahore’s innings faltered badly.

This eighth straight loss of Lahore — they lost their last three matches in the last edition of the PSL — has highlighted their lack of performance..

Peshawar rode on brilliant knocks of 57 by Kamran Akmal and 37 by Tamim Iqbal to achieve their third win in five matches. Karachi Kings top the table with seven points in four matches followed by Multan Sultans, also seven but in five matches and inferior run-rate.

Kamran struck two sixes and seven boundaries in his 47 ball unconquered knock while Tamim smashed four boundaries.

After a day’s rest the PSL shifts back to Dubai, with a rest day on Monday. Action begins on Tuesday with Multan Sultans taking on Peshawar.



You might also like