The news is by your side.

Australia clinches third consecutive Women’s World T20 title

DHAKA: Australia crushed England by six wickets to clinch the Women's World T20 2014 at Sher-e-Bangla Stadium at Mirpur on Sunday (today), ARY News reports.

Australia Women won the toss and put the English side to bat first.

England Women showed poor display of batting skills and only managed to put up 105/8 in their 20 overs. Heather Knight was the top scorer for her team as she made 29 runs from 24 balls whereas Sarah Taylor managed to contribute 18 runs from 25 balls. Charlotte Edwards scored 13 runs from 19 balls.

Sarah Coyte took three wickets for the Australian side whereas Ellyse Perry and Rene Farell took two wickets each.

In reply, Australia Women chased the target in just 15.1 overs. Captain Meg Lanning led the side from the front as she scored 44 runs from 30 balls whereas Ellyse Perry made an unbeaten 31 runs from 32 balls. Jess Jonassen made 15 runs from 10 balls.

Natalie Sciver grabbed two wickets for English Women while Anya Shrubsole and Jenny Gunn dismissed one batswoman each.

Sarah Coyte was named the Player of the Match while Anya Shrubsole was the Player of the Tournament.

Australia Women have clinched the Women's World T20 title three times in a row.



You might also like