Battlefield heats up for third phase of local bodies polls

KARACHI: Political parties and independent candidates have started contacts and strategic talks to build new alliances for the third phase of local government elections in remaining districts of Sindh and Punjab provinces, ARY News reported on Monday.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The citizens of Pakistan’s largest city of Karachi will cast their votes to elect representatives for local councils in the third phase of polls on December 05.

The voters in six districts of Karachi will elect their councillors in a multi-pronged contest in which Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf (PTI), Jamaat Islami, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz apart of large number of independent candidates will challenge the political dominance of Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) in the port city.

The political parties have made election alliances and seat adjustment in the final phase of grassroot elections in Karachi’s District Central, District East, District West, District South, Korangi and Malir.

In Punjab remaining 12 districts of the province will elect their local representatives in the final phase.

The voters in Rawalpindi, Multan, Bahawalpur, Dera Ghazi Khan, Sialkot, Jhang, Rahim Yar Khan, Khoshab, Narowal, Layyah, Muzaffargarh and Rajanpur districts will exercise their right to vote on December 05.

The candidates of PML-N, People’s Party, PTI, Jamaat Islami and other political parties and independent political groups contesting elections.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email



ARY Sports

Copyright © 2017

To Top

Battlefield heats up for third phase of local bodies polls

by Web Desk