The news is by your side.

Gayle storm hands Rangpur Riders maiden BPL title

DHAKA: Rangpur Riders won the BPL 2017 final with a 57-run victory over Dhaka Dynamites here at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, ARY News reported.

Dhaka Dynamites opted to bowl first after winning the toss. Skipper Shakib Al Hasan gave the early breakthrough to Dhaka by dismissing in form Johnson Charles on 3.

From there on it was Chris Gayle hitting it all over the place. The T20 champ hammered the Dhaka Dynamites bowlers and remained not out on 146 off just 65 balls including 5 fours and 18 sixes.

Gayle and Brendon McCullum made an unbeaten partnership of 201 in the 2nd wicket stand and helped Rangpur to post a big total of 206 for 1 after 20 overs. McCullum was not out on 51. Shakib took the only wicket for 26 runs.

In reply Dhaka Dynamites had a nightmare start as they lost 2 wickets for just 1 run on the board. Dhaka were in all sorts of trouble after losing 4 wickets for 29. Shakib tried to put some fightback with but got out after scoring a quick-fire 26. Jahurul Islam’s fifty was not enough for Dhaka to chase the target down as they kept losing wickets in regular intervals. Dhaka managed to score 149 for 9 in 20 overs and lost by 59 runs. Isuru Udana, Nazmul Islam and Sohag Gazi shared 2 wickets each.

Chris Gayle was named man of the match for his match-winning century.



You might also like