The news is by your side.

Brathwaite takes charge of West Indies T20 team

Brathwaite played pivotal role to lead West Indies to the victory in Twenty20 World Cup final this year.

Selectors appointed Brathwaite captain for the two Twenty20 internationals the West Indies will play against India at Fort Lauderdale in Florida on August 27 and 28.

The new captain memorably smashed four sixes in the final over against England to win World T20 final in Mumbai.

“Brathwaite is one of the most talented players in the T20 format of the game and his humble and committed approach to the game can inspire young and upcoming players,” said chairman of selectors, Courtney Browne.

“We are looking forward to a competitive series against India in these matches.”

Darren Sammy who led Caribbean side to victory in the 2012 and 2016 Twenty20 championships was removed from captaincy on Friday after a six-year spell.

Sammy claimed he was dumped in a 30-second phone call from chairman of selectors Browne.

West Indies T20 squad:

Andre Fletcher, Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite, Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, Jason Holder, Johnson Charles, Kieron Pollard, Lendl Simmons, Marlon Samuels, Samuel Badree, Sunil Narine



You might also like