The news is by your side.

Last day for candidates to win over voters for by-polls

ISLAMABAD: With by-elections to vacant national and provincial assembly seats scheduled for Sunday (Oct 14), candidates competing in the electoral battle have last day to win over voters in their respective constituencies. 

The campaign for the by-elections will come to an end at midnight tonight. The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has warned hopefuls against canvassing after the midnight with a fine up to Rs100,000 and imprisonment up to two years.

By-polls will be held on 11 National Assembly seats, including two in Lahore, two in Rawalpindi and one each in Karachi, Faisalabad, Gujrat, Chakwal, Bannu and Attock. Besides, there are 26 provincial assembly seats up for grabs in the by-elections.

In NA-131, PML-N stalwart Khawaja Saad Rafique will face off PTI leader Humayun Akhtar Khan. PPP’s Asim Mahmood, and TLP’s Rana Umer Shahzad are also in the run for this NA seat.

In another Lahore constituency, NA-124, a PML-N bastion, former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi is contesting election against PTI’s Ghulam Mohiuddin Dewan.

TLP’s Manzoor Hussain, PTI’s Muhammad Saddullah, PML-N’s Ali Gohar Khan and PPP’s Shahadat Ali Khan are in the run for NA-103 (Faisalabad-III).

In NA-243 (Karachi East-II), MMA’s Naeem Akhtar, PTI’s Muhammad Alamgir Khan, TLP’s Syed Nawazul Huda, PML-N’s Sharafat ALi, MQM-P’s Amir Waliudding Chishti, and PPP’s Hakim Ali and PSP’s Syed Asif Hasnain are contesting the election.

PML-Q leader Moonis Ilahi will lock horns with PML-N’s Imran Zafar in NA-69 (Gujrat-II).

PPP’s Syed Ishrat Ali Zaidi, PML-N’s Aqeel Malik, TLP’s Qurban Ali and PTI’s Mansoor Hayat Khan are vying for  NA-63 (Rawalpindi-VII).

PTI’s Sheikh Rashid Shafique, PML-N’s Sajjad Khan and TLP’s Zahid Aqeel are in the run for NA-60 (Rawalpindi-IV).



You might also like