By-elections in Lahore and Okara tomorrow

LAHORE: The electioneering for hotly contested by-election in NA-122 of Lahore ended last night with 17 candidates in the field, ARY News reported on Saturday.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The election commission has finalized arrangements for by-elections in two National Assembly constituencies NA-122 Lahore and NA-144 Okara, and one Punjab Assembly constituency PP-147 Lahore on Sunday (Oct 11).

The election commission has established 284 polling stations for the by-election in Lahore’s NA-122. The election authorities have declared 101 polling stations as ‘sensitive’.

The authorities have deployeed 3500 army troops and 4500 policemen for the by-election in the constitency on Sunday.

The ballot papers being dispatched to the polling stations in NA-122 and NA-144 under the supervision of the army troops.

A total of seventeen candidates are in the run in NA-122 Lahore including former speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq of PML(N), Abdul Aleem Khan of PTI and Barrister Mian Aamir Hassan of PPP.

In PP-147 Lahore, the main candidates are Mohsin Latif of PML(N), Muhammad Shoaib Siddique of PTI and Iftikhar Shahid Advocate of PPP.

In NA-144 Okara, five candidates are contesting including Ali Arif Chaudhry of PML(N) and Muhammad Ashraf Khan Sohna of PTI.

THE electioneering for the by-election in Lahore’s National Assembly constituency NA-122 came to an end midnight Friday with the PTI and PML-N holding large public gatherings to demonstrate their muscle in the area.

The PPP candidate, Barris­ter Amir Hassan, who says he is contesting polls to revive the party, concluded his campaign by taking out a rally in different parts of the constituency.

The polling for the seat, which fell vacant after an election tribunal’s decision against PML-N’s Sardar Ayaz Sadiq. Sadiq has thrice won from the constituency since 2002, twice defeating PTI chairman Imran Khan.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email



ARY Sports

Copyright © 2018 ARYNEWS.tv

To Top

By-elections in Lahore and Okara tomorrow

by Web Desk