The news is by your side.

Defending champions West Indies lost to India

MIRPUR: India has claimed second consecutive victory in the World T20 crushing defending champions West Indies by 7 wickets at Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur on Sunday, ARY News reported.

West Indies looked jetlagged in a bizarre innings of 129 for 7, they lacked aggressiveness that a T20 demands.

Chris Gayle, who dropped twice at 0 and 19, scored 34 off 33, his slowest 30-or-more-ball knock, Dwayne Smith prodded and fumbled around for 11 off 29, and the rest crumbled under the pressure of needing more than 100 in the last 10 to even be competitive when the dew would come in.

Later some handy contribution of Lendl Simmons 27 off 22 and Darren Sammy 11 off 7 allowed West Indies to set a respectable target of 130.

India bowled superb as most of their bowlers ended economical spells.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar set the template with the most economic figures in Twnety20 internationals – 3-0-3-0. Amit Mishra conceded 18 taking 2 wickets of Marlon Samuels and Dwayne Bravo off successive deliveries in his 4 overs spell.

Chasing 130, India lost Shikhar Dhawan at 1 but Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma saw India through with calm half-centuries.

Abdre Russel bowled Kohli. He scored 54.

Struggling Yavraj Singh played 19 balls to score 10. But Rohit Sharma stayed till the end taking India home in the last over scoring unbeaten 62 runs.




You might also like