The news is by your side.

Democrats secure convincing victory in KPC Elections 2016

Out of 1,069 registered voters, around 775 cast their votes from 9:00am to 5:00 pm in a peaceful environment without any interruption.

Securing 538 votes, candidate for the seat of KPC Secretary, A H Khanzada of the Democrats, was declared successful for the second time in two year while his opponent, Ashraf Khan of the Progressive Panel, managed to bag 228 votes.

Fazil Jamili secured 487 votes and became KPC President for the second time, leaving behind his opponent Nizamuddin Siddiqui with 231 votes.

Bagging 456 votes, Sajjad Abbassi has been elected as the Vice President of the journalists’ club for the first time, while the other candidate, Nadia Farooq, could manage to get 289 votes.

Hanif Akbar has clinched the seat of KPC Treasurer for the second time as he bagged 467 votes in front of Salik Majeed who got 272 votes.

With 500 votes, Rizwan Bhatti has been elected as the KPC Joint Secretary, while Sheher Bano managed to secure 254 votes.

Contesting for the post of president, independent candidate Imtiaz Chandio lost after bagging 34 votes.

Other candidates of the Democrats Panel have also been elected as members of the Governing Body, including Hina Mah Gul with 491 votes; Tariq Abul Hassan with 462 votes; Nawab Qureshi with 449 votes; M Sidiq Chaudhry with 421 votes and Manzoor Chandio with 406 votes.

The KPC Elections 2016 were followed by the General Council Meeting of the KPC, chaired by the outgoing body, which presented its report based on the activities and achievements they had in 2015.



You might also like