The news is by your side.

ECP makes a move to get separate offices in Punjab

ECP owns only two offices throughout Pakistan and almost their entire district offices are either on rented buildings or consists of one or two rooms in different public sector buildings. ECP officials have to secure important electoral material at the treasury offices of the districts concerned.

The federal government had approved PC- 1 pertaining to acquiring independent offices for the ECP at district level and directed the provincial governments for facilitating them in the identification of land at the earliest.

But despite repeated contacts and reminders, there are 13 districts in Punjab which are yet to identify separate land for the ECP offices. The 13 districts include Rawalpindi, Attock, TT Singh, Gujranwala, Gujrat, Sialkot, Sheikhpura, Kasur, Nankana Sahib, Sahiwal, Multan, Muzaffargarh and RY Khan.

ECP Punjab office has written a letter to the Punjab Chief Secretary against the delinquent DCOs which are not cooperating with them in the identification of separate land. Following complaint from the ECP, Punjab CS has moved a letter of displeasure to these DCOs and directed them for identifying the land without any further delay. DCO Lahore has identified Kanals for the ECP at Saggian.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email



You might also like