The news is by your side.

ECP resumes scrutiny of nomination papers after Eid leaves

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) resumed scrutiny of the nomination papers of election candidates on Monday after Eid leaves, the process will complete on Tuesday.

The returning officer of NA-242 Karachi, rejected the nomination papers of the former opposition leader in Sindh Assembly Khawaja Izharul Hassan, as the nominations were filed for the National Assembly constituency of NA-243. “You have submitted the nomination papers at wrong place and we mistakenly received. Now the matter will be resolved by the appellate tribunal,” the returning officer said.

The returning officer after completion of the scrutiny of the nomination papers of MMA’s Asadullah Bhutto for NA-242, will give his decision today.

The nomination papers of Anwar Baloch of Justice and Democratic Party were approved by the RO for Karachi’s NA-247.

The nomination papers of MQM’s Farrukh Raza Advocated and JUP’s Syed Masroor Alam Qadri and the PPP’s Syed Imran Abidi were accepted for Karachi’s NA-239 and People’s Party’s Sabir Hussain Gola and independent candidate Shaukat Khokhar for NA-244.

Moreover, the returning officer also approved nominations of Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan candidate Ahmed Raza Qadri for Karachi’s NA-245 and PS-106.

The nomination papers of Muhajir Ittehad Tehreek’s Muhammad Farid Khan for PS-126 were rejected, while the papers of PTI candidates Haleem Adil Shaikh and Mehboob Abbasi were accepted for PS-99 and PS-100 respectively.

A total of 21,482 nomination papers have been filed across the country for national and provincial assemblies, the election commission said.

The number of candidates filed papers for 342 seats of the National Assembly has been 6063 while 15419 nomination papers have been filed for the provincial assemblies’ seats.

As per the election schedule, appeals against the rejection or acceptance of nomination papers can be filed by 22nd of June.

The Appellate Tribunals will decide the appeals by 27th June, after which the revised list of the candidates will be displayed on 28th of this month.

Candidates can take back their nomination papers by 29th June and the ECP will announce the final list of candidates on the same day.

Electoral symbols will be issued to candidates on 30th June while polling will be held on 25th July.



You might also like