ECP suspends 279 lawmakers for not submitting asset details

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has suspended membership of 279 members of the Senate, National and provincial assemblies after they failed to submit details of assets, ARY News reported.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The ECP on Friday wrote a letter to chairman Senate, speakers of the National and provincial assemblies, directing them to prevent the suspended members from working until the submission of their asset details.

The list carried names of Iqbal Zafar Jhagra, Shahi Syed, Hasil Bizenjo and Taj Afridi among 13 senators.

The ECP said that 62 Members of the National Assembly (MNAs) have also been suspended that included federal ministers Sardar Yousuf and Khurram Dastagir, Owais Laghari, Shafqat Mehmood and others.

The list carried names of 130 members of Punjab Assembly, 26 members of Sindh Assembly; 39 lawmakers of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly and nine members of Balochistan Assembly.

The election commission also issued a notification preventing these members from working as per routine.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email



ARY Sports

Copyright © 2018

To Top

ECP suspends 279 lawmakers for not submitting asset details

by Web Desk