The news is by your side.

In a glimmer of hope election runner-ups plead ROs for votes’ recount

ISLAMABAD: As official results of general elections start trickling in, various political contenders have expressed reservations on the election outcomes and pleaded to the Returning Officers (ROs) for recounting of votes.

Usman Dar, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate from Sialkot, in a plea to RO requested for votes’ recount in his constituency NA-73 (Sialkot) owing to the rejection of more than seven thousand votes. Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) leader Khawaja Asif was announced to be victorious in NA-73 with 116,957 votes. The request of runner-up Dar has been accepted by the RO and recounting of votes will be held tomorrow at 9:00 am.

In Lahore’s constituency of NA-129, the request of votes’ recount by runner-up Aleem Khan of PTI has also been approved. The Returning Officer has asked, Aleem Khan and winning candidate from NA-129, Ayaz Sadiq of PML-N, to appear tomorrow at 10:00 am for recounting of ballots.

PML-N leader Abid Sher Ali, who was defeated in Faisalabad’s NA-108, has also requested for votes’ recount in his constituency.

Sons of former premier Yousuf Raza Gilani, Abdul Qadir Gilani and Moosa Gilani, who had contested from NA-154 and NA-157 respectively, have also submitted requests to their respective ROs for recounting of votes in their Multan constituencies.



You might also like