The news is by your side.

By-Elections: Re-polling underway in NA-202 Shikarpur

SHIKARPUR: By-elections are underway in 21 polling stations of NA-202 constituency of Shikarpur on Tuesday (today), ARY News reports.

The voting process started at 08:00 A.M and will continue till 05:00 P.M.

In the general election on 11th May 2013, Ibrahim Jatoi of National Peoples Party (NPP) was elected in the National Assembly after beating Aftab Shaban Mirani of Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) by 1254 votes.

Aftab Shaban Mirani had challenged the victory in the tribunal. The election tribunal had ordered NADRA to verify the votes.  Most of the votes were declared fake and re-polling was ordered in 21 polling stations of the constituency.

Large number of MNAs and MPAs from PPP whereas supporters of Dr. Ibrahim Jatoi, a supporter of Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N),  are present in the polling stations to support their respective candidates.

To curb any unforeseen incident throughout the by-polls, 4200 police personnel, 11 SSPs and 400 Rangers have been deployed to control the law and order situation.



You might also like