FIFA earns $4.5bn, Germany to get $35mn

RIO DE JANEIRO: A record amount of winning prize has been awarded to teams in 2014 FIFA World Cup played at Brazil, following is the criteria of the prize money distribution among the winners and the runners ups.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The 2014 World Cup is concluded with Germany being crowned as champions while Argentina and Netherlands taking up the second and third place respectively.

The 2014 World Cup winners, Germany will be getting a cash prize of $35 million, $5 million more than what Spain got in 2010.

Runners up Argentina will be getting $25 million ($1 million more than 2010), while Netherlands – after ending third and Brazil –after ending fourth will be receiving $22 million and $20 million respectively.

Colombia, France, Costa Rica and Belgium, who were knocked out of the quarter-finals will be receiving a sum of $14 million each, while the sides eliminated from the last sixteen – Chile, Uruguay, Nigeria, Algeria, Mexico, Greece, Switzerland and United States – will be receiving $9 million each.

And the sides who were eliminated from the group stages itself receive a sum of $8 million.

The national federations have the liberty to distribute the money among its 23-man squad any way they want.

FIFA have earned $4.5 billion from the competition in the form of revenue from broadcasters, sponsors, hospitality and licensing deals.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email



ARY Sports

Copyright © 2017

To Top

FIFA earns $4.5bn, Germany to get $35mn

by Zohaib Kazmi