The news is by your side.

World’s first T10 Cricket League kicks off with glitzy opening ceremony

SHARJAH: A glamour-filled opening ceremony on Thursday marked the start of world’s first T10 Cricket League here at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium amid spectacular light show and performances by top celebrities.

The league, like the Pakistan Super League, is a franchise-based tournament but will feature the new 10-over format of the game. It features top former and current cricket stars like Virender Sehwag, Shahid Afridi, Fakhar Zaman, Eoin Morgan, Liam Plunkett, Dinesh Chandimal and Sarfraz Ahmed.

T10 League

“Ladies and Gentleman, this is the moment which I am sure will go in the history of cricket. We will remember December 14 as the day when T10 Cricket was born in Sharjah,” Chairman T10 League Shaji ul Mulk said in his speech.

Shaji ul Mulk thanked his partner Salman Iqbal, the CEO and President of ARY Digital Network, and the team owners who stood with him on every step.

During his speech,  CEO and President of ARY Digital Network and T10 League President, Salman Iqbal said that the the type of cricket which this league is introducing will not let audience sit as they will be cheering for their respective teams in the shortest format of the game.

“A number of people tried their best to stop this league from happening but against all odds we are here and Insha Allah tonight, history will be made in UAE,” Mr Salman Iqbal said.

Indian celebrity Urvashi Rautela and Pakistan’s Hareem Farooq performed at the event hosted by ‘Jeeto Pakistan’ host Fahad Mustafa.

Five teams are participating in the tournament are Maratha Arabians, Pakhtoons, Bengal Tigers, Kerala Kings, Punjabi Legends and Sri Lanka Cricket. Each team is headed by an ‘Icon Player.’

The opening ceremony was followed by two matches, one between Bengal Tigers and Kerala Kings and the other between Maratha Arabians and the Pakhtoon team.



Also Read

All You Need To Know About T10 Cricket League

Emirates Cricket Board member Shaji ul Mulk and Salman Iqbal, the CEO and President of ARY Digital Network and owner of PSL franchise Karachi Kings, are the joint partners of the T10 league. Mr. Shaji is the chairman while Mr. Iqbal is the president of the league.

This league is being staged under the aegis of the Emirates Cricket Board (ECB) and given official sanction by the International Cricket Council (ICC).



Team Sri Lanka Cricket

Lahiru Thirimanne, Dilshan Munaweera, Kithuruwan Vithanage, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Jayasinghe, Thisara Perera, Nipun Karunanayake, Angelo Perera, Shehan Jayasuriya, Alankara Asanka, Wanidu Hasaranga, Kasun Madushanka, Dushmantha Chameera, Vishwa Fernando, Sachithra Senanayake, Jeffrey Vandersay.

Punjabi Legends

Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Misbah ul Haq, Carlos Brathwaite, Fahim Ashraf, Abdul Razzaq, Shareef Asadullah, Hasan Ali, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Rangana Herath, Dawlat Zadran, Usama Mir, Ghulam Shabber, Luke Ronchi.

Kerala Kings

Eoin Morgan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Babar Hayat, Rohan Mustafa, Kieron Pollard, Shakib al Hasan, Paul Stirling, Imran Haider, Sohail Tanvir, Liam Plunkett, Wahab Riaz, Samuel Badree, Rayad Emrit, Chadwick Walton, Nicholas Pooran.

Bengal Tigers

Rameez Shahzad, Darren Sammy, Darren Bravo, Mohammad Nawaz, Rovman Powell, Sunil Narine, Ryan McLaren, Mohammed Naveed, Mustafizur Rahman, Rumaan Raees, Hasan Khan, Anwar Ali, Sarfraz Ahmed, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher.


Fakhar Zaman, Tamim Iqbal, Dwayne Smith, Ahmad Shahzad, Najibullah Zadran, Shahid Afridi, Amjab Javed, Mohammad Nabi, Liam Dawson, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan, Sohail Khan, Umar Gul, Shaheen Afridi, Saqlain Haider.

Maratha Arabians

Virender Sehwag, Shaiman Anwar, Alex Hales, Lendl Simmons, Rillee Rossouw, Ross Whiteley, Imad Wasim, Roelof van der Merwe, Zahoor Khan, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Sami, Hardus Viljoen, Wayne Parnell, Kumar Sangakkara, Kamran Akmal.






You might also like