The news is by your side.

Hype high as Karachi, Punjab’s 12 districts enter LG polls tomorrow

The much-hyped local elections in Karachi and twelve districts of Punjab will take place tomorrow.

The 12 districts of Punjab are Layyah, Rajanpur, DG Khan, Muzaffargarh, Jhang, Khushab, Rawalpindi, Sialkot, Narowal, Rahim Yar Khan, Bahawalpur and Multan.

While polling will be held in six districts of Karachi which are; Karachi West, Karachi East, Karachi South, Karachi Central, Korangi and Malir.

As many as 14,450 polling stations have been set up in 12 districts of Punjab.

Candidates contesting the local polls attempted all-out to canvass for votes in their respective constituencies and took out rallies to win over voters.

In Karachi, majority of candidates from MQM held door-to-door canvassing, seeking public support for the votes. Similarly Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf candidates also address public gathering in different parts of cities.

Around 5,000 candidates are in the run for over 1400 seats in the city. The number of polling stations in Karachi is 4,144. Of them, 1,800 have been declared as highly sensitive.

According to the ECP, 964,585 men and 770,634 female voters are registered in Karachi’s District Central, 658,616 men and 528,285 women voters in District East, 929,862 men and 599,970 women in District West, 457,928 men and 347,755 women in District South, 675,589 men and 507,947 women in District Malir, and 675,589 men and 507,947 women in District Korangi.



You might also like