IHC withheld notification of Jhagra, Magsi's election

ISLAMABAD: The Islamabad High Court (IHC) has restrained notification of the victory of two PML-N candidates in Senate elections from Islamabad, ARY News reported on Friday.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidates Iqbal Zafar Jhagra and Raheela Magsi emerged victorious in Senate elections on Thursday for two vacant seats from the federal capital.

IHC had granted the two candidates conditional permission to contest polls from Islamabad.

A petition was filed against the two candidates in IHC with the plea that under the constitution an election candidate should be the voter of the same constituency but Zafar Iqbal Jhagra belongs to Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Raheela Magsi has been a resident of Tando Allahyar in Sindh, so as they could not contest for the Senate seats from Islamabad.

According to sources, Raheela Magsi has got a confirmed copy of the election results and has decided to challenge the court’s decision in the Supreme Court.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email



ARY Sports

Copyright © 2018

To Top

IHC withheld notification of Jhagra, Magsi's election

by Shakoor Nizamani