The news is by your side.

Javed Iqbal wants NAB officials to expedite progress on mega corruption cases

ISLAMABAD: Chairman National Accountability Bureau (NAB) Justice retd Javed Iqbal has directed the accountability watchdog’s officials to expedite progress in mega corruption cases, ARY NEWS reported.

In a directive issued to the NAB director generals, Justice retd Javed Iqbal said that the cases against big fishes should be expedited. “Instead of presenting all witnesses before the courts, prime witnesses should be brought before the court for testimonies in order to ensure a speedy trial in high profile cases,” he said.

The chairman said that the NAB was committed to eliminating corruption from the country. “Mega corruption cases should be prepared on the basis of concrete evidence,” he said.

In recent action, the National Accountability Bureau (NAB) has sought the details of Sindh police officers’ bank accounts from the State Bank of Pakistan.

NAB Karachi has asked the central bank to provide details of the bank accounts of 150 SHOs and other Sindh police officers, sources said.

According to NAB sources, the accountability bureau has asked the SBP to send the national identity card numbers of the officers to all banks to get their data.

The accountability watchdog has also sought the date of opening accounts and details of lockers and deposits. The NAB has demanded the bank record of the officers from year 1985 till now.

Read More: NAB unearths assets worth Rs3bn of two Sindh police officers: sources

The bureau has also demanded details of the foreign currency remittances from the exchange companies via the banks. The details should also be given if accounts were opened through a third person, the accountability bureau asked.

The list of the officers sent to the central bank included names of Dhani Bux Marri, Rao Zakir, Wilayat Shah, Rana Latif, Arshad Laghari, Sajjad Haider, Javed Sikandar, Jaffar Baloch, Mithal Shar, Pir Nasir, Fateh Mohammad Shaikh, Farooque Satti, Amjad Kiani, Faisal Khan, Mir Muhammad Lashari, Nawaz Gondal, Iqbal Tunio, Mairaj Anwar, Khalid Mehmood, Saima Saeed, Gulzar Tunio, Ahsanullah Marwat, Rao Dilshad, Farasat Shah, A. D. Chaudhry and Malik Faisal Latif, NAB sources said.



You might also like