The news is by your side.

Kerala Kings become first T10 League champions

Kerala Kings won the final match of first T10 League by 8 wickets against Punjabi Legends here at Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Sunday night


With Eoin Morgan and Paul Stirling’s sparkling 100-plus partnership, the highest of the tournament, KK finished the match while 12 balls were still remaining. Morgan bludgeoned 63 in 21 balls with the help of six 6s and five 4s, while Stirling remained unbeaten with 52 runs off 23.


Batting first, Punjabi Legends put 120 on board driven by blistering knocks of Shoaib Malik and Luke Ronchi in the final clash of first T10 League tournament.

The 100-run partnership between Ronchi (70) and Malik (26) helped pile a formidable but chasable target, 121.

Kerala Kings had won the toss and elected to bowl first against Punjabi Legends.

Hard luck for Punjabi Legends though, and well-deserved win for Kerala Kings under Eoin Morgan’s captaincy, who led from the front.

The awards bagged by Morgan: Man of the Match, Spirit of the Match and Beyond Boundaries.

Talking to Ramiz Raja in the end, skipper runner-up team Misbah said, “Yeah, I enjoyed it very much but I don’t know if bowlers liked it as it was very much difficult for them with good pitches and short boundaries.”

KK captain said, “I have not played innings like this (as in T10 League). I had in mind to ride from the get going after PL gave us impressive target.”

Earlier, KK beat Maratha Arabians by five wickets, while PL beat Pakhtoon Team by nine wickets in the semi-finals.


Live Score: Kerala Kings 101/3 After 7 Overs

    Paul Stirling 52    Eoin Morgan 63

Punjabi Legends 120/3 After 10 Overs

Luke Ronchi 69  Shoaib Malik 26


As it happened:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email



You might also like