The news is by your side.

Malala U-21 National Women Cricket Championship 2014 to begin from Dec 4

According to press release issued by PCB, the event is scheduled to be held from December 4 to 18, 2014 at the Lahore Country Club, Muridke.

The championship will consist of 12 regional teams and will be spread over two rounds – the Qualification and the Final. In the first, Qualification round, six Regional teams from the lower rung of the table shall fight it out between themselves over six encounters for the two slots up for grabs in the main, Final round.

With the top six remaining Regional teams having already qualified for the final round, the two teams from the Qualification round will boost the total number to eight.

With eight Regional teams contesting for the honours, a total of 13 matches will be played in the Final round. In the U-21 Championship, relegation system has been introduced in order to improve the overall standard of women’s cricket and give greater representation to the players.

The event was previously named as Under-19 National Women Cricket Championship but to honor the youngest Nobel laureate Malala Yousufzai, it was named after her.

Moreover, in a bid to give greater opportunity and exposure to the promising young talent, event’s age bracket is increased from 19 to 21.



You might also like