The news is by your side.

Mathews' 74 eases Sri Lanka to fourth successive win

MIRPUR: Sri Lanka's maintained winning pursuit with the three wickets victory against Bangladesh on Thursday, ARY News reported.

Bangladesh’s bowlers made a game of the dead rubber, carving through Sri Lanka's in-form top order early in the chase.

During the chase of 205 runs, Sri Lanka’s batting order collapsed when opener Kusal Perera swiped at an Al-Amin Hossain short ball, sending a thin edge to the keeper, before Kumar Sangakkara was handed his first failure of the tournament, nicking to slip as he cover drove. 

Then, out of form Mahela Jayawardene thwarted by his partner before he had made a run. Lahiru Thirimanne called him through for a single, then sent him back, after Jayawardene had traveled most of the distance to the other end. He was short by a distance, leaving Sri Lanka at 8 for 3.

A 39-run stand from Thirimanne (33) and Ashan Priyanjan(24) helped Sri Lanka a bit to recover from the initial shock.

Later, Sri Lankan skipper Angelo Mathews collected unbeaten 74, who got good support from Chaturanga de Silva (44) overcame a collapse and sealed victory. 

Earlier, Bangladesh winning the toss decided to bat first, their Bangladesh openers had made 74 before Ajantha Mendis made the incision that began a top-order hemorrhage – five wickets for 45 runs.

Four of the Sri Lankan bowlers namely Lakmal, Perera, Ajantha Mendis and Ashan Priyanjan took 2 wickets each.

Among opening pair, Anamul Haque scored 49 runs and Shamsur Rahman made 39 runs. 

Some useful contribution from the middle order helped Sri Lanka to score 204 runs.

Nasir Hossain and Mahmudullah scored 30 runs each.  



You might also like