The news is by your side.

MQM declared victorious in official NA-246 results

According to the official result announced by Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) returning officer, MQM candidate Kunwar Naveed Jamil secured a whopping 95,644 votes to claim the victory followed by PTI candidate who gained second position with a tally of 24,821 votes.

While, Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) candidate stood on third position with 9056 votes.

The ECP officer Nadeem Haider told media that a total number of 131, 411 votes were polled during the by-election; of them 1129 were rejected.

Voter turnout remained 36.72 percent.

A total of 213 polling stations were established in the constituency. Closed circuit cameras were installed and law enforcement personnel were deployed in and outside the polling stations.

Related: Altaf Hussain says people rejected negative propaganda against MQM

The NA-246 constituency of Karachi witnessed a by-poll on Thursday as the seat fell vacant after Nabil Gabol who was elected on the ticket of MQM in the 2013 general elections resigned from his seat after developing differences with the party.

MQM’s Kanwar Naveed Jameel, PTI’s Imran Ismail and Rashid Naseem of Jamaat-e-Islami were the key contestants in the by-poll amongst a total number of 11 candidates vying for the seat.

Related: JI dismisses MQM NA-246 mandate



You might also like