The news is by your side.

MQM, PPP emerge victorious in Sindh by-polls

According to the results, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) has emerged as the winner in the constituencies of PS-106 and PS-117 in Karachi.

In PS-106, Mehfooz Yar Khan of the MQM secured 18,137 votes. Sardar Abdul Samad of the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) emerged second, while Nusrat Anwar of the Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) was placed third.

In PS-117, MQM candidate Syed Qamar Abbas Rizvi clinched the constituency after securing more than 11,000 votes. The main rivals were Rafaqat Umar of the PTI, and Jawad Maqbool of the PPP.

The seats had fallen vacant after MQM lawmakers Iftikhar Alam from PS-106 and Dr. Sagheer Ahmad from PS-117, had resigned to joined the Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP) of Mustafa Kamal.

The city witnessed very low turnout than is usually expected in the constituencies. There was no usual fanfare or excitement as normally seen in the traditional MQM strongholds.

In Naushehro Feroze, elections were held in PS-22 where Dr. Abdul Sattar Rajper of the PPP  secured more than 28000 votes to defeat Arif Mustafa Jatoi of the PML-N.

The seat had fallen vacant due to unseating of  Dr. Abdul Sattar Rajpar but he has retaken his seat in the by-polls.

Earlier MQM senior deputy convener, Dr. Farooq Sattar while casting his vote at a polling station in PIB Colony, said they were in competition with the contestants, not with their ideologies.

“Next Chief Minister of Sindh will be someone nominated by the MQM,” said Sattar confidently while talking to the media.

There were few reports of skirmishes and clashes at some polling stations in Karachi, while complaints of mismanagement at some polling stations have also been reported. However, elections were held peacefully without any untoward incident.

Besides police officials, Rangers personnel were deployed in all the constituencies and even inside the polling stations.





You might also like