The news is by your side.

Murad Ali Shah elected new chief minister Sindh with big margin

Members of the provincial assembly voted to elect the new the chief minister of Sindh today during Sindh Assembly session.

Murad Shah has bagged 88 votes while his only opponent for this post was Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s Khurram Sher Zaman who got just three votes.

The seat was left vacant after Syed Qaim Ali Shah resigned from his office on Wednesday. Ruling Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) leadership in a meeting in Dubai had made the decision to replace elderly party stalwart Syed Qaim Ali Shah on 24th July.

The election was contested between PPP’s Murad Ali Shah and PTI’s Khurram Sher Zaman.

Earlier, the PPP candidate for CM Sindh elections had met key party leaders including Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah and Faryal Talpur. The chief minister-designate discussed the party policies and issues related to the governance of the province in the meetings.

A meeting of PPP parliamentary party will be held later today at CM House in Karachi to devise the strategy of the assembly session scheduled to be held today.

Moreover, Jam Ikram Dharejo gave a reception in the honour of Murad Ali Shah. Chairman PPP Bilawal Bhutto Zardari was the chief guest in the function, which was also attended by Speaker Sindh Assembly Agha Siraj Durrani, Nisar Khuhro, Faryal Talpur and other party leaders.



You might also like