The news is by your side.

New CEC: Parliament Panel meets today

The government and the  opposition had shortlisted the names of three judges after a long period of consultations to sent concerned parliamentary committee to decide the name of the new CEC.

The opposition leader Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah and Finance Minister Ishaq Dar on Wednesday announced the names of Shariat Court Chief Justice Sardar Muhammad Raza, former Supreme Court judges Justice Tariq Pervez and Justice Tanvir Ahmed Khan for the top election office. Three names later sent to the parliamentary panel to decide one of them as top election official of Pakistan.

The Supreme Court had directed the government and the opposition to appoint the CEC by December 8, otherwise the court will order legal action against the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition.

The apex court had also warned to withdraw its judge Justice Anwar Zaheer Jamali who is filling the office as Acting Chief Election Commissioner.

The parliamentary committee meeting today at the Parliament House for picking one of the candidates as CEC.



You might also like