The news is by your side.

New Zealand beat Bangladesh by eight wickets, sweep series

NELSON, New Zealand: Kane Williamson and Neil Broom, with a 179-run stand for the second wicket, set New Zealand up for an eight wicket win over Bangladesh in the final one-day international in Nelson on Saturday.

Williamson was not out 95 at the close and Broom made 97 as New Zealand chased down Bangladesh’s 236 with more than eight overs to spare.

Earlier, Bangladesh following a century opening stand by Tamim Iqbal and Imrul Kayes were restricted to 236-9 in the third one-day international.

Tamim (59) and Imrul (44) cruised past the hundred mark in the 21st over as they laid the base for a competitive total. But when Imrul was caught by a diving Neil Broom it opened the floodgates for the New Zealand bowlers.

Only Nurul Hasan offered any resistance further down the order with 44 off 39 deliveries before he was dismissed in the final over.

With New Zealand 2-0 up going into the final match of the three-ODI series, Bangladesh were keen to show they could be competitive after losing their last nine wickets for 80 runs in the second match and the last five for 120 in the high-scoring series opener.

Playing on the same Saxton Oval wicket where New Zealand won the second game by 67 runs two days ago, Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza looked to make the most of the flattening pitch by opting to bat first when he won the toss.

Tamim and Imrul made light of the bowling as New Zealand mixed pace and spin in trying to get the most out of a wicket being used for the second time in three days.

They were eventually rewarded with Broom’s sensational catch to remove Imrul and wickets followed quickly after that.

From 102 without loss, Bangladesh fell to 170-6.

Tamim appeared to lose patience with the lack of support and lashed out at a good length Jimmy Neesham delivery and Broom took another running catch backward of point.

Shakib Al Hasan looked comfortable reaching 18 until he went for a quick single when patting the ball to the leg side.

Wicketkeeper Luke Ronchi sprinted from behind the stumps to grab the ball and with a perfect throw he ran out Shakib at the bowler’s end.

New Zealand’s six bowlers all shared in the wickets with Matt Henry and Mitchell Santner taking two apiece and one each for Tim Southee, Jeetan Patel, Jimmy Neesham and Kane Williamson.

The win gave New Zealand the series 3-0 and the two sides now play three T20s followed by two Tests.



You might also like