The news is by your side.

Pakistan name 15-man squad for Champions Trophy 2017

LAHORE: Former skipper Azhar Ali and Umar Akmal are set to make comeback as Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced 15-member squad for ICC Champions Trophy, 2017, on Tuesday.

The PCB National Selection Committee headed by Chief Selector Inzamam ul Haq selected the for the Champions Trophy to be played in England and Wales from June 1 to June 18 this year.

“The team has been selected keeping in mind the conditions and the recent performances of some players in domestic and international tours,” said a statement released by the PCB.

“Azhar Ali making his comeback in the team looking at his good track record at English conditions, whereas, Umar Akmal also makes a comeback after bringing considerable improvement in his fitness and his performance in the ongoing Pakistan Cup,” said the PCB.

The press release says young Shadab Khan and Fahim Ashraf are retained in the side to give the team variety in the shape of spin and fast bowling all-rounders, respectively.

“Overall the team consists of experience and youth and the selectors believe that team will do well in the ICC event”, said Inzimam ul Haq.

The Sarfraz Ahmed-led side will play warm-up matches against Bangladesh on May 27 and Australia on May 29 at Edgbaston before taking on India in its opening match of the ICC Champions Trophy at Edgbaston on June 4, 2017.

The selected players are:


  1. Azhar Ali


  1. Ahmad Shahzad


  1. Fakhar Zaman


  1. Baber Azam


  1. Muhammad Hafeez


  1. Shoaib Malik


  1. Umar Akmal


  1. Sarfraz Ahmad Captain- WK


  1. Shadab Khan


  1. Immad Wasim


  1. Muhammad Amir


  1. Wahab Riaz


  1. Hassan Ali


  1. Junaid Khan


  1. Fahim Ashraf



You might also like