The news is by your side.

New Zealand decimate Pakistan by 10 wickets

Skipper Shahid Afridi won the toss and elected to bat first against New Zealand at Seddon Park. After winning the toss, Afridi said that no changes had been made to the Pakistani squad.

However, New Zealand have made an important change in the form of Ross Taylor, who has been included in the squad for today.

Afridi also said his team would try to post a respectable total on the scoreboard.

Pakistan had won the first T20 against the Kiwis on Friday, by a margin of 16 runs. Pakistan are currently 1-0 up in the series against New Zealand.


Read more: Pakistan beat in-form New Zealand by 16 runs in first T20

Team Pakistan:-

Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Sohaib Maqsood, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi (Captain), Imad Wasim, Sarfraz Ahmed†, Wahab Riaz,Umar Gul, Mohammad Amir

Team New Zealand:-

MJ Guptill, KS Williamson (captain), C Munro, CJ Anderson, GD Elliott, L Ronchi†, MJ Santner, TD Astle, LRPL Taylor, AF Milne, MJ McClenaghan


New Zealand’s innings

New Zealand after 20 overs: 171/0

Wahab Riaz to Martin Guptill 16.2

New Zealand triumphantly beat Pakistan to level the T20 series 1-1. Guptil and Williamson took it away from Pakistan flawlessly, without giving even a single wicket. Pakistani bowlers went for expensive runs and were unable to take any Kiwi scalps when the dust was settled.

New Zealand after 15 overs: 141/0

New Zealand are clearly in the driving seat. as Guptil and Williamson look all set to trounce Pakistan in a defining manner.

New Zealand after 10 overs: 82/0

Shahid Afridi to Martin Guptill 14.4

Shahid Afridi to Martin Guptill 14.1

Concern brews for Pakistan as after 10 overs, the bowlers were unable to take any Kiwi scalps. Williamson and Guptil continued to score runs and put New Zealand in a comfortable position.

New Zealand after 5 overs: 53/0

New Zealand’s batsmen played well during the first five overs, taking Pakistani bowlers Umar Gul and Mohammad Amir head on. While Guptil provided the much needed support, Williamson smashed boundaries left, right and center.

Umar Gul to Martin Guptill 0.6

Pakistan’s innings

Pakistan after 20 overs: 168/7

It was Umar Akmal’s blistering half-century which set the stage for Pakistan’s total of 168, after 20 overs.

Mitchell McClenaghan to Umar Akmal 18.2

Imad Wasim was also dismissed for a low score.

Adam Milne to Imad Wasim 17.6

However, an aggressive top edge culminated in the end of Afridi’s innings.

Adam Milne to Shahid Afridi 17.2 - Copy

Shahid Afridi looked promising at the start, with a fiery six.

Adam Milne to Shahid Afridi 17.1

Here’s how all-rounder Shoaib Malik completely misread the delivery and was clean bowled.

Mitchell McClenaghan to Shoaib Malik 16.5

Here is Pakistani batsman Umar Akmal, smashing the ball for a six.

Grant Elliott to Umar Akmal 15.5

 Pakistan after 15 overs: 116/3

Shoaib Malik and Umar Akmal provided Pakistan with some stability, as the tourists scored 116 at the loss of 3 wickets.

Pakistani batsman Sohaib Maqsood was dismissed by Grant Elliot when he attempted a rash stroke and connected an edge. A safe catch was taken, thus ending his time at the crease.

Grant Elliott to Sohaib Maqsood 11.1

Pakistan after 10 overs: 66/2

An impressive six from Pakistani bastsman Sohaib Maqsood.

Todd Astle to Sohaib Maqsood 7.3

Pakistan after 5 overs: 30/1

Pakistan looked all set for a good start to the game, as Mohammad Hafeez and Shahzad were pursuing the New Zealand bowlers aggressively. However, Ahmed Shehzad’s top edge ensured his dismissal, as Pakistan lost one opener during the early half of the game yet again.

Mitchell Santner to Mohammad Hafeez 0.2

Here’s how Shehzad was dismissed.

Corey Anderson to Ahmed Shehzad 3.6



You might also like