The news is by your side.

PCB names women cricket team for World Cup 2017

LAHORE: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Friday announced a 15-member women cricket team for the upcoming ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 to be played in England from June 24, 2017 to July 24.

The Women National Selection Committee headed by Mohammad Ilyas selected the squad. The team will feature in two warm-up matches against West Indies and Australia on June 20 and 22, 2017, respectively before the start of the mega event.

The selected players are:

  1. Ayesha Zafar
  2. Bibi Nahida
  3. Mariana Iqbal
  4. Bisma Maroof
  5. Javeria Khan
  6. Syeda Nain Fatima Abidi
  7. Sidra Nawaz (Wicket Keeper)
  8. Sana Mir (Captain)
  9. Kainat Imtiaz
  10. Asmavia Iqbal Khokhar
  11. Diana Baig
  12. Waheeda Akhtar
  13. Nashra Sandhu
  14. Ghulam Fatima
  15. Sadia Yousuf


Ms. Ayesha Ashhar (Manager)

Mr. Sabih Azhar (Head Coach)

Mr. Ibrar Ahmed (Trainer)

Mr. Muhammad Zubair Ahmad (Video Analyst)

Mr. Shahid Anwar (Batting Coach)

Four teams, Australia, England, New Zealand and West Indies, were automatically qualified for the world cup, while four other teams, Pakistan, India, South Africa and Sri Lanka had to pass through 2017 World Cup qualifier to confirm their berth at the event.

The International Cricket Council on February 08 announced the five venues for the 2017 Women’s World Cup. Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Somerset and Gloucestershire will host all the other matches while Lord’s will host the final.



You might also like