The news is by your side.

Peshawar Zalmi beat Islamabad United by 24 runs

Afridi won the toss as his team readied to play its first PSL T20 match against Islamabad United and decided to go for batting. Hafeez, Dawid Malan and Kamran Akmal could not score well.

Tamim Iqbal’s half century helped Peshawar Zalmi set 145 runs target with a loss of seven wickets at the end of first innings.

The Islamabad United once again trembled while chasing a moderate total, as Sharjeel Khan, Babar Azam and Umar Ameen could not come up to the expectations.

Misbah too failed to take his team a long way as Zalmi spinner Muhammad Asghar ruined the rival middle order.

On the occasion, Army Public School Peshawar’s students were also present at the stadium to cheer their team.

Sam Billings somehow fought back the Zalmi bowlers, but gave in at 26 runs as Islamabad United kept losing wickets from the other end.

Islamabad United could only score 121 in 20 overs at the loss of nine wickets.

Pacer Wahab Riaz and Muhammad Asghar scored three wickets each, while Shaun Tait dismissed two of the opponents.

Peshawar Zalmi 21-Member Squad

Shahid Afridi (c) Mohammad Hafeez Tamim Iqbal Shahid Yousuf Israrullah Musadiq Ahmed Brad Hodge Dawid Malan Aamer Yamin Darren Sammy Jim Allenby Kamran Akmal Abdur Rehman Junaid Khan Wahab Riaz Shaun Tait Imran Khan Hasan Ali Rashid Khan Taj Wali Muhammad Asghar

Islamabad United 20-Member Squad

Misbah ul Haq (c) Babar Azam Sharjeel Khan Khalid Latif Hussain Talat Umar Siddiq Shane Watson Kamran Ghulam Umar Amin Andre Russell Ashar Zaidi Sam Billings Brad Haddin Saeed Ajmal Mohammad Irfan Mohammad Sami Samuel Badree Rumman Raees Amad Butt Imran Khalid



You might also like