The news is by your side.

PM Nawaz removes PCB chairman Zaka Ashraf

LAHORE: Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has removed the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman Choudhary Zaka Ashraf on Monday, ARY News reported.

The prime minister has also dissolved the governing board of the PCB. The PM took this decision after amending the PCB constitution in exercise of his powers being a patron-in-chief of the PCB.

An 11-member interim committee has been constituted to run PCB affairs. The committee is mandated to elect the ad-hoc chairman of PCB. The committee members include Shakil Sheikh, Iqbal Qasim, Yousuf Khokhar, Shehryar Khan, Najam Sethi, Zaheer Abbas and Naveed Akram.

The notification in this regard has been issued by the Inter-provincial Coordination Ministry. 

Zaka said he would decide about filing an appeal in the court after consulting his lawyer. He added that he had yet not recevied a notification for his removal.

He said Pakistan Cricket will be left alone internationally under the ad-hoc committee.

The news about PCB chief's removal was first aired by ARY News on Friday, February 7, 2014.

Earlier, the Islamabad High Court, on July 19, 2013, had declared appointment of Mr. Ashraf illegal and directed the then PCB chief Najam Sethi to hold elections within 90 days. However, on January 15, 2014 Mr. Ashraf was restored on his position by the IHC after he had filed an intra-court appeal, challenging his sacking.



You might also like