The news is by your side.

PML-N candidate wins NA-153 by-election

PML-N candidate bagged 112,000 votes against Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Ghulam Abbas Khakhi’s 37,212 votes and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) candidate Malik Akram Kanhu’s 30,124 votes.

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has congratulated the winning candidate and said the win demonstrated that the people of South Punjab appreciate the PML-N government’s policies.

Sharif added that voters were the best judges to gauge good work done by any government and today’s massive win by the PML-N candidate reflected the popularity of government’s pro-people policies.

“Our policies have removed the deprivations of the marginalised parts of the country as we believe that Pakistan can move ahead only if each and every part of the country is included in the reform agenda.”

The NA-153 seat was won by PML-N’s Deevan Ashiq Hussain, in the May 2013 general elections. He was later disqualified by a court.

To ensure foolproof security, more than 3,000 police personnel, along with army troops, were deployed outside polling stations.



You might also like