The news is by your side.

PML-N wins big majority in AJK elections

The PML-N has gain the position to form its government in the region. Ruling People’s Party and Muslim Conference have won three   seats each, while Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has also won two seats in the territory, according to the unofficial election results.

Read More: PPP refuses to accept AJK Legislative Assembly polls

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has congratulated the winning candidates in the elections. He said that the peaceful and transparent elections was evidence of the democracy in the country. He expressed hope that the winning candidates would also struggle for the cause of Indian-Occupied Kashmir. The premier is also expected to visited Muzaffarabad tomorrow.

The Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) has rejected the elections results and decried that massive rigging took place by the PML-N. Advisor to Chief Minister Sindh on Information Maula Bux Chandio said that it was evident that state machinery was used in the election.

Read More: Imran Khan congratulates PML-N on AJK elections victory


Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N) candidate Chaudhry Muhammed Saeed has defeated Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate and president Azad Kashmir Barrister Sultan Mehmood in Mirpur.

AJK Chief Election Commissioner Justice Ghulam Mustafa Mughal announced the result of LA-39 Kashmir Valley IV. PML-N candidate Asad Aleem Shah won with 1026 votes on LA-39 seat from Valley 4, while PPP candidate Azhar Gillani was runner-up with 893 votes.

In Mirpur Division, Sardar Farooq Sikanadr of PML-N succeeded from LA-9 Kotli-2 with over 28,000 votes. Javed Iqbal of Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) stood second with over 24, 000 votes.

Raja Nisar Ahmad of PML-N succeeded from LA-12 Kotli-5 with over 16, 000 votes against Muhammad Matloob Inqilabi of PPP with more than 11,000 votes.

Senior PML-N leader and Defence Minister Khawaja Asif with the initial unconfirmed and unofficial results had announced that PML-N was heading towards victory.

In another tweet, he also taunted at Imran Khan’s anti-government movements.

The polling for the elections in Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK)  had ended at designated time of 5PM and unofficial results have started pouring in from around the region. Counting is underway for the 10th general elections on 41 seats of Azad Jammu and Kashmir LA.

A three-pronged contest was held between top political parties of Pakistan in the AJK. A huge number of people particularly women came out of their homes to participate in the general elections which are expected to attract a huge voter turnout.

The polling for the elections to elect 41 members of the regional Legislative Assembly began at 8 am today (Thursday) and continued without any break till 5PM. However, voters present inside the polling stations were allowed to cast their votes even after that time.

A total of 2.6 million Kashmiris are exercising their right to elect legislative assembly members for the ninth time since the parliamentary form of rule was introduced in Azad Jammu and Kashmir in 1975.

For 41 seats, a total of 423 candidates from 26 political parties are contesting today. However, all eyes are on the candidates of the three mainstream Pakistani political parties – Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI).


Chief Election Commissioner in Azad Kashmir Ghulam Mustafa Mughal while talking to media representatives after visiting different polling stations claimed that it is not possible to rig elections this time.

Although elections were held a smooth and transparent across the region, there were reports of mismanagement and skirmishes at several polling stations. The situation became overwrought in LA-16 Rawalakot constituency for a short time after an incident of aerial firing interrupted the polling.

Sources told ARY News that fake ballot papers were recovered from an alleged agent of PML-N in polling station number 103 in Dhadyal. A worker of PTI was also arrested after a brawl with PML-N workers in LA-33 Narowal.

The polling has being held in various cities across Pakistan since members for 12 out of the 41 directly elected seats are elected by voters living in various parts of the country. The 12 seats include nine from Punjab, two from Sindh and one from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Many Kashmiris are also casting their votes in several polling stations set up across the country in cities including Karachi, Lahore, Bahawalpur, Hafizababad and Sukkur. Interestingly there was no voters in Larkana and even the sole registered voter did not cast his vote. In Sukkur there were only two voters who cast their vote.


According to the Inter-Services Public Relations (ISPR), armed forces have been deployed in and outside the polling stations during polls. They are also being assisted by Police and other law-enforcement officials.

Corp Commander Rawalpindi Lieutenant General Zaffar Iqbal has also made sure that the preparations for elections are foolproof. He was on a tour of Azad Kashmir where he made the assertions to ensure that no untoward incident takes place.

Pakistan army is sharing the responsibility of holding free and fair elections for the AJK Legislative Assembly with the Frontier Constabulary (FC), Punjab Constabulary and AJK police.

At least 37,000 security troops are performing special election duties on 5,427 polling stations across AJK out of which 1,400 have been declared sensitive by authorities.

Election material has been sent to the 29 constituencies of AJK and 12 other seats of Kashmiri refugees settled in Pakistan.

All political parties rigorously campaigned for the election which which ended on Tuesday, and did not spare any efforts to gain the support of their supporters from making election pledges and claims. The results are being eagerly anticipated to determine how the parties have fared in the elections.




You might also like