The news is by your side.

PML-N lawmakers among six indicted on contempt charges

LAHORE: The Lahore High Court (LHC) on Friday indicted two PML-N lawmakers and four others for committing contempt of court by staging an anti-judiciary rally in Kasur.

The bench read out charges against the alleged contemnors, including MNA Sheikh Waseem Akhtar, MPA Naeem Safdar, municipal chairman Ayaz Khan, vice chairman Ahmed Latif, Nasir Khan and Jamil Khan.

They pleaded not guilty, saying that they inadvertently committed the offence. They requested the judges to pardon them unconditionally.

The court, meanwhile, directed them to come up with their response within seven days.

During previous hearing, the PML-N leaders verbally tendered unconditional apology, which the court rejected and appointed a state counsel as prosecutor to frame charges against them.

Video clips of the protest rally were also played on an electronic projector in the courtroom.

Kasur District Bar Association President Mirza Naseem and others moved the petitions in the high court. They claimed that the protest rally of the PML-N leaders was a well-thought out conspiracy to malign the judiciary and pleaded that the participants of the rally should be punished for committing contempt of court.



You might also like