The news is by your side.

PML-N’s Sheikh Ansar elected as first-ever mayor of Islamabad

Unofficial and unconfirmed results suggested that Ansar bagged 49 votes, while his opponent Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf’s (PTI) Khurram Nawaz secured 26 votes.

Backed by the ruling PML-N, the candidates Riffat Javed, Zeeshan Naqvi and Azam Khan were also elected as deputy mayors.

Polling for the election of mayor and deputy mayors started at 9am and lasted till 5pm.

According to district returning officer (DRO), Aleem Shahab told that two out of 77 elected office-bearers of the Islamabad Metropolitan Corporation (IMC) could not poll their votes.

Jamil Khokhar could not cast his vote for he did not have the original CNIC, while Ateeq Khattak was out of country, told the DRO.



You might also like