The news is by your side.

PTI’s Jahangir Tareen soundly beats PML-N’s Siddique Baloch in NA-154 bye-election

Polling for the by-election started at 8:00 am and ended at 5:00 pm.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Siddique Baloch and PTI’s Jahangir Tareen were among 20 candidates in the field contesting the vacant seat.

According to unofficial and incomplete results, PTI’s Jahangir Tareen is leading with 1,13,480 votes followed by PML-N’s Siddque Baloch has bagged 72,110 votes.

According to officials 47 polling stations were declared most sensitive.

In NA-154 constituency total registered voters were 419,182 voters including 228,870 male and 190,312 female.

The National Assembly seat fell vacant after PML-N MNA Siddique Baloch was disqualified by an election tribunal on a petition filed by PTI’s runner-up Jahangir Tareen, who had accused the former of possessing fake degree and committing irregularities during the general election of 2013.

The Supreme Court, however, set aside one of the tribunal’s decisions and ordered re-election in the constituency allowing Baloch to contest again.



You might also like