PML-N ahead in Vehari, Jhelum by-elections

VEHARI/JHELUM: The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) is ahead in the by-elections in Vehari and Jhelum as counting is still underway, ARY News reported.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

According to unofficial and unconfirmed results, PML-N candidate Chaudhary Muhammad Yusuf Kasilia is currently ahead in the PP-232 Vehari-I constituency.

He is being trailed by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Ayesha Nazir Jatt who is reportedly in a close contest.

Around 191,092 registered voters exercised their right to vote. The seat fell vacant after the passing away of PML-N’s Malik Iqbal Mehdi, who had won the constituency in the 2013 general elections.


In Jhelum NA-63 PML-N candidate Raja Matloob Mehdi is ahead while his counterpart Fawad Chaudhry of the PTI is currently behind. He has expressed his displeasure at the delay in the unofficial voting result.

Those participating in the election include Dewan Hashmat Hayat Pakistan Muslim League – Quaid (PML-Q) and Jahangir Mahmood Mirza of the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP).

According to details, 427,757 registered voters exercised their right to cast votes in NA-63 Jhelum-II constituency. Around 976 polling booths were set up in 314 polling stations.

The voting process being supervised by 314 presiding officers, 976 assistant presiding officers and 976 polling officers, election commission sources said.

The voting process in both constituencies started at 8:00 am and continued till 5:00 in the evening without any break.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email



ARY Sports

Copyright © 2017

To Top

PML-N ahead in Vehari, Jhelum by-elections

by Web Desk