The news is by your side.

Prodigious passing Spaniards

Known for their passing gameplay, Spain has been labelled by the critics as one of the best ever footballing sides right now.

The Spanish side has won the FIFA World Cup once and the Euros two times. They were unbeaten from November 2006 to June 2009 before losing to the United States.

Iker Casillas:

Iker Casillas is one of the best goalkeepers of all time. He led his country to their first Euro and FIFA World Cup in 2008 and 2010 respectively. He was the captain when Spain was crowned European Champions in 2012 for the second time.

The Spaniard was ranked fourth in the 2008 European Footballer of the Year awards and was included in the UEFA Team of the Year for six consecutive times.

Casillas has appeared 154 times for Spain and is the most capped player for the country.


Raul Gonzalez:

Although he did not have many success in international football, Raul Gonzalez is still one of the most senior figures in Spanish football.

Raul has represented Spain in three FIFA World Cup and two Euros.

He became captain of the Spanish national football team from 2002 till 2006. He retired from international football that year.


Fernando Torres:

One of the most recognized faces in the sport, Fernando Torres emerged in the international footballing scene in 2003. Since then, he has represented the country in more than 100 matches.

He has played two FIFA World Cups (2006 and 2010) and three European Championships (2004, 2008 and 2012).

The Spanish striker is the third highest goal scorer for Spain as well. He netted the ball in the finals of 2008 and 2012 Euros as well.


Andres Iniesta:

One of the best mid-fielders in Spain, Andres Iniesta represented the country in Under-16, Under-19 and Under-21 FIFA World Cups before being selected in the international side in 2006.

He played a vital role in Spain’s 2008 Euro victory and was one of the workhorse behind Spain winning the FIFA World Cup in 2010 in which he scored the winning goal in the final against Netherlands. He also netted the ball in the final of the 2012 Euro against Italy.

Iniesta was included in the UEFA Team of the Tournament in 2008 and was named the Man of the Match of the final of 2010 World Cup.

He also bagged the 2012 UEFA Best Player in Europe award and has been named in FIFA World XI team five times.




You might also like