The news is by your side.

Peshawar Zalmi defeat Lahore Qalandars by three wickets

DUBAI: Peshawar Zalmi won the match against Lahore Qalandars by three wickets in sixth Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2017 match on a bowler-friendly pitch at Dubai International Stadium on Sunday.

This is second win for Peshawar Zalmi in three games.

Lahore Qalandars tried hard to defend their meager total. However, Eion Morgan (23) anchored Zalmi’s inning after three batsmen lost their wickets off 24 runs. Fakhar Zaman caught Morgan on a Yasir Shah’s ball.

In eleventh over Shahid Afridi (13) hit two boundaries one after another then at the last ball he flicked ball into Grant Elliot’s hand. Then, Peshawar Zalmi were 47 for 4 as Yasir Shah came in with a blitz and swept three more wickets.

Darren Sammy said: “We thought we would have a good day with bat and ball and sometimes you gotta win ugly and we did manage to get a win by the end of the day.

“Small total like that, we made a mess of it and I don’t think the coach will be very happy. I think when we won the toss, there was some moisture and we exploited it very well.”

Earlier, all Lahore Qalandars batsmen were shown exit at 59 runs as they lost wickets in quick succession.

Peshawar Zalmi bowlers ripped through Lahore Qalandars wickets and within 11 overs all the wickets had fallen apart.

Hasan Ali bagged 3 wickets, Chris Jordan 2, while Shahid Afridi, Muhammed Hafeez, Wahab Riaz and Muhammed Asghar took 1 wicket apiece.

On the other hand, only Fakhar Zaman (33) and Muhammed Rizwan (11) of Lahore Qalandars could reach double figure score, while Brendon McCullum, Umar Akmal, Grant Elliot, Yasir Shah and Muhammed Irfan failed to score a single run.

Peshawar Zalmi won the toss and elected to bowl against Lahore Qalandars.

After winning the toss Peshawar Zalmi skipper Darren Sammy said, “We’ve got good bowlers who can put them under pressure early on.” He said that Zalmi had got strong battling lineup and they would restrict Qalandars and chase the target.

Sohaib Maqsood replaced Haris Sohail in Peshawar Zalmi squad. While, Lahore Qalandars played with the same team.

Peshawar Zalmi squad

TM Dilshan, Sohaib Maqsood, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imran Khan, CJ Jordan, Junaid Khan, Kamran Akmal†, DJ Malan, Mohammad Asghar, Mohammad Hafeez, EJG Morgan, DJG Sammy*, MN Samuels, Shahid Afridi, Sohaib Maqsood, Wahab Riaz

Lahore Qalandars squad

Aamer Yamin, Azhar Ali, Bilawal Bhatti, CS Delport, GD Elliott, Fakhar Zaman, JEC Franklin, Ghulam Mudassar, CJ Green, BB McCullum*, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Rizwan†, SP Narine, JJ Roy, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal, Usman Qadir, Yasir Shah




You might also like