The news is by your side.

PSL second edition kicks off today

DUBAI: The wait is over! the second edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL) will kick off in Dubai on Thursday (today), ARY News reported.

Local and international cricketers will showcase their talent as five teams – Karachi Kings, Islamabad United, Peshawar Zalmi, Quetta Gladiators and Lahore Qalandars — will battle for Pakistan’s illustrious Twenty20 title.

The matches will be played in Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah whereas the final will be played in Lahore.

A colourful opening ceremony will take place before the matches as Pakistan’s Ali Zafar and world renowned reggae singer Shaggy will perform in the event.

There will also be a fireworks display along with a top-act by the Flying Drummers.

Islamabad United will defend its crown as PSL champions. They will take on Peshawar Zalmi in the inaugural game of the competition.

Each of the five teams will play eight games against each other in the round robin stage and the top four sides will qualify for the playoffs.

The first playoff will be contested between the first and second placed sides in the round-robin stage. The third and the fourth ranked side will face each other in the second playoff game before the losing team from the first playoff faces the victorious side from the second playoff.

The final will be played between the winner of the first playoff and the third playoff at Lahore.


The PSL second edition trophy is manufactured by Swarovski company and is named ‘Spirit Trophy’.

The ‘Spirit Trophy’ dazzles with the innovative crystal fine rocks — a product made using over 50,000 double pointed crystals. Sitting on the pinnacle is the Shooting Star, a multi-faceted crystal sculpture made with precision cut technology.




You might also like