The news is by your side.

PTI agrees upon Justice (R) Bhagwan Das for new CEC

PPP leader, Qamar Zaman Kaira was also present on the occasion. During the meeting, officials from both the sides agreed upon the name of Justice (R) Rana Bhagwan Das.

Opposition Leader, Khursheed Shah said that Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz had proposed the names of Justice (R) Tassaduq Hussain Jillani and Justice (R) Saeed uz Zaman Siddiqui, while PPP suggested Justice (R) Mian Muhammad Ajmal and Justice (R) Tariq Pervez.

“PTI proposed the names of Justice (R) Nasir Aslam Zahid and Justice (R) Rana Bhagwan Das” said Shah.

Talking to media after the meeting, the Opposition Leader said it is his duty to consult all the opposition parties and then present a finalized name to the prime minister, for the key post of CEC.

Meanwhile, Shah Mehmood Qureshi said if the government differed from the names proposed by his party, then it will resort to countrywide protest demonstrations.

He added that the present election commission has entirely failed in fulfillment of its duties and the appointment of a new CEC is similar to constitute a new commission.

Qureshi said PTI has reservations on certain names and it will openly oppose the appointment of any of those individuals.



You might also like