The news is by your side.

Rain washes out second Pakistan-Ireland ODI

As a result Pakistan have won the two match series 1-0. The green shirts won the first ODI by a whooping 255 runs due to a blistering 152-run knock by Sharjeel Khan and a five-wicket haul by Imad Wasim.

There was heavy downpour in Dublin after which the rain was delayed earlier. The match was supposed to start at 10 AM local time but it was later reduced to 31 overs due to the rainfall.


Although the rain stopped midway, there was heavy breeze and it seemed that the rain would restart. The umpires inspected the ground at 2PM local time and decided to start the match at 3PM.

However, the covers were still on the pitch, and the umpires decided to call off the match as there was no chance it could reach a cut-off point due to the steady rain.

Sharjeel Khan was declared as the player of the series. Pakistan will move back to England where the five match ODI series begins on Wednesday in Southampton.


Pakistan (squad): Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Sami Aslam, Sarfraz Ahmed, Sharjeel Khan, Shoaib Malik, Umar Gul, Wahab Riaz and Yasir Shah.

Ireland (squad): William Porterfield (captain), John Anderson, Peter Chase, Ed Joyce, Andy McBrine, Barny McCarthy, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O’Brien, Niall O’Brien, Stuart Poynter, Paul Stirling, Gary Wilson and Craig Young.



You might also like