The news is by your side.

Siraj asks Speaker not to accept PTI resignations

JI chief talking to the Speaker said that the acceptance of the resignations of the PTI lawmakers will deepen the political crisis.

Thirty-one MNAs of PTI had submitted resignations at the Speaker’s office on August 22nd as part of the party’s protest campaign. Three MNAs of the party, Gulzar Khan, Nasir Khan Khattak and Mussarat Zaib, however, refused to follow the party’s decision of resignations. Party president Javed Hashmi, who parted ways after developing differences with the party’s top leadership has already resigned.

National Assembly Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq on Monday initiated the long-pending verification of resignations of the PTI lawmakers and invited them to meet him.

Speaker Ayaz Sadiq has started the verification process in phases, and as the first step he sent letters to six MNAs of PTI including Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Asad Umar, Arif Alvi, Dr Shireen Mazari, Ali Muhammad Khan and Munazza Hassan asking them to appear before him to verify the signatures on their resignation letters.

A verification of resignation is required if a member of the assembly submits it through another person.



You might also like