The news is by your side.

Sri Lanka divulges test squad for upcoming series against Pakistan

COLOMBO: Sri Lankan has announced the 16-man squad for the test series against Pakistan, Angelo Mathews is named as the skipper, ARY News reported.

The squad features a raft of young and inexperienced places, as Sri Lanka work towards replacing its seniors over the next 18 months.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Prasanna Jayawardene has been returned to the squad, Kaushal Silva has also been named, ostensibly as a replacement for the retired Tillakaratne Dilshan, as an opener. Offspinners Sachithra Senanayake and Dilruwan Perera are the other uncapped Test players in the squad.

Meanwhile, Ajantha Mendis was omitted, after he had been part of the squad for the Bangladesh series.

Rangana Herath and Mahela Jayawardene will also both join the team in the UAE after they had ruled themselves out for the limited-overs legs of the tournament for personal reasons. 

The squad for three-match series is as follows,

Angelo Mathews (captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Kaushal Silva, Dimuth Karunaratne, Lahiru Thirimanne, Prasanna Jayawardene, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Shaminda Eranga, Nuwan Pradeep, Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Vishwa Fernando.

The first of the three Tests begins in Abu Dhabi on December 31.




You might also like