The news is by your side.

T10 League: Stirling heroics lead Kerala Kings to 8 wicket victory over Bengal Tigers

SHARJAH: A magnificent 50 by Paul Stirling led Kerala Kings to an easy victory against Bengal Tigers here at Sharjah Cricket Stadium in the first match of the T10 Cricket League, ARY News reported.

Stirling led the onslaught by the Kerala side as both his partners Morgan and Pollard couldn’t score much after being given an 86 run target to chase by Sarfraz-led Bengal Tigers. Stirling’s 66 off just 27 balls were the highlight of the match while Morgan and Pollard scored 11 runs each from Kings.

Bengal’s Aamer Yamin and Mujeeb Zadran took 1 wicket each.

From Bengal Tigers,  Andre Fletcher and Johnson Charles opened the batting. Both the openers were steadily hitting boundaries until Wahab Riaz dismissed Charles on an individual score of 33 runs. Miller and Fletcher batted till the end and scored 17 and 33 run respectively to see the 10 overs end with a competitive 86-run target.

Kerala Kings captain Eoin Morgan had won the toss and opted to bat first. 





Earlier, a glamour-filled opening ceremony at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium marked the opening of the world’s first T10 league amid spectacular light show and performances by top celebrities.

The league, like the Pakistan Super League, is a franchise-based tournament but will feature the new 10-over format of the game. It features top former and current cricket stars like Virender Sehwag, Shahid Afridi, Fakhar Zaman, Eoin Morgan, Liam Plunkett, Dinesh Chandimal and Sarfraz Ahmed.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email



You might also like